Release 2026.10.02
Compare core policy fields
This table preserves missing and qualified values. It does not score, rank or recommend routes.
WIMA is not a government authority and does not issue visas, residence permits or citizenship. Confirm current requirements with the responsible authorities before acting.
All route records
| Route | Jurisdiction | Outcome | Basis | Legal status | Intake status | Operational status | Mechanism | Duration | Presence | Later outcome | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARI | Portugal | Temporary residence | Capital investment | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | Create at least 10 jobs. Transfer at least EUR 500,000 for research, at least EUR 250,000 for arts or cultural heritage, or at least EUR 500,000 into qualifying non-real-estate collective investment funds. A EUR 500,000 company investment route is available subject to specified job-creation or job-maintenance conditions. Direct or indirect real-estate investment does not qualify under the listed options. | Two years for the initial temporary permit. | At least seven days in the first year and at least 14 days in each subsequent two-year period. | Permanent residence or naturalisation may be requested separately if the applicable conditions are met; ARI does not make either outcome automatic. | 2 October 2026 |
| International telework | Spain | Temporary residence | Remote work | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | The principal applicant must show monthly resources equal to 200% of Spain's minimum interprofessional wage. The first family member adds 75%, and each additional member adds 25%. | A visa may be issued for up to one year. An in-country residence authorisation may be issued for up to three years. | Not stated | Not established | 2 October 2026 |
| Innovator Founder | United Kingdom | Temporary residence | Business entrepreneurship | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | No fixed minimum investment amount is stated. The endorsing body assesses whether the applicant has sufficient funding and a credible source of funds for the business plan. An applicant entering the route, or present in the United Kingdom for less than 12 months, normally needs GBP 1,270 in personal funds held for 28 days. | Up to three years per grant. | For settlement, absences must not exceed 180 days in any 12-month period during the qualifying three years. | Settlement may be available after three years with a fresh endorsement and satisfaction of the settlement criteria; it is not automatic. | 2 October 2026 |
| Tier 1 (Investor) legacy | United Kingdom | Temporary residence with a legacy settlement path | Capital investment | In force for transition | Closed to new applications | Operating for settlement cases | The base historical investment level was GBP 2 million. Earlier cohorts and accelerated-settlement thresholds are governed by the rules that applied to the relevant grant. | Not applicable to new applicants | Settlement normally requires absences not exceeding 180 days in any 12-month period. | A qualifying legacy holder may apply for settlement by 17 February 2028. Historical qualifying periods varied with the investment level. | 2 October 2026 |
| New CIES | Hong Kong | Temporary residence | Capital investment | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | At least HKD 30 million must be invested: HKD 27 million in permissible investment assets and HKD 3 million in the CIES Investment Portfolio. Permissible assets include specified financial assets and real estate within published caps and conditions. | Initial formal approval is normally for 24 months. | Not stated | Permanent residence may be available after seven years of continuous ordinary residence. An entrant who maintained the investment requirements but is not ordinarily resident may seek unconditional stay under the scheme rules. | 2 October 2026 |
| Golden Residency — real estate | United Arab Emirates | Long-term residence | Real estate | Not established | Accepting applications | Operating | Minimum qualifying real-estate value: AED 2 million, subject to registration and evidence requirements. | Not established — official sources conflict. The identity-authority guide states 10 years, while the general government portal page updated on 26 February 2026 states five years for real-estate investors. | Not stated | Not established | 2 October 2026 |
| National Innovation visa | Australia | Permanent residence | Innovation and talent | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | No fixed investment amount is stated. Selection is based on invitation, achievement and nomination criteria. | Permanent residence. The associated travel facility is stated as five years. | Not stated | Australian citizenship may be available if the separate eligibility rules are met. | 2 October 2026 |
| Citizenship by Investment | Antigua and Barbuda | Citizenship | Economic contribution | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | National Development Fund contribution from USD 230,000, or an approved real-estate investment from USD 300,000 held for at least five years. Approved business investment requires at least USD 1.5 million for a sole investor, or a qualifying joint investment totalling at least USD 5 million with at least USD 400,000 per investor. The University of the West Indies Fund option begins at USD 260,000 for a family of six or more, subject to the current programme terms. | Citizenship; no permit duration applies. | At least five days in Antigua and Barbuda during the first five calendar years after citizenship, subject to the statutory consequences of non-compliance. | Not applicable | 2 October 2026 |
| Start-up Visa | Canada | Permanent residence | Business entrepreneurship | In force | Suspended | Operating for accepted files | A designated venture-capital fund commitment is normally at least CAD 200,000, a designated angel-investor-group commitment at least CAD 75,000, or the applicant must be accepted into a designated business incubator. Settlement funds are required under a formula tied to family size; the amount is updated periodically. | Permanent residence if the application is approved. | Not stated | Not established | 2 October 2026 |
| Business visa | South Africa | Temporary residence | Business entrepreneurship | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | The published prescribed capital contribution is ZAR 5 million. A reduction or waiver may be available for specified businesses or sectors through the responsible recommendation process. | Up to three years under regulation 14. | Not stated | Not established | 2 October 2026 |
| Pensionado | Costa Rica | Temporary residence | Pension | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | Minimum foreign pension: USD 1,000 per month, permanent and stable. | Two years between renewals under the current regulation. | Not stated | Not established | 2 October 2026 |
| Rentista | Costa Rica | Temporary residence | Independent means | In force | Accepting applications | Operating | Minimum stable income: USD 2,500 per month. The regulation does not treat a simple return of the applicant's own deposit as income unless the regulatory conditions are met. | Two years between renewals under the current temporary-residence framework. | Not stated | Not established | 2 October 2026 |
For eligibility, family conditions, work rights, limitations and source citations, open the route record.